Maynilad completes 20-km pipe replacement in Parañaque

December 12, 2017

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently completed the replacement of 20 kilometers of old, leaky pipelines in Parañaque City.
Maynilad spent P136 million for this pipe replacement project, which addressed the problem of leaks and breakages on the 30-year-old distribution system of the Merville area. Replacing the old secondary and tertiary pipelines in this area allowed Maynilad to recover some 1.36 million liters of water per day (MLD) that was previously lost to leaks. This recovered water is enough to supply the water needs of about a thousand customers.
Moreover, the project will enable Maynilad to maintain a strong water pressure of 16 pounds per square inch (psi) for the more than 5,000 households in Merville Subdivision, Camella Homes, South Admiral 1 & 2 Subdivisions, Molave Park Subdivision, Inland Subdivision, Cubic Homes, Bella Villa Homes, Buena Vida Homes, Greenville Subdivision, and Jade Manor Townhomes.
In 2017 alone, Maynilad has spent P2.79 billion for pipe replacement projects in different areas of its concession area, particularly in Quezon City, Navotas, Valenzuela, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas and Cavite.
“To date, we have already replaced about 49% of the distribution system in the West Zone. We intend to sustain these water infrastructure enhancements so that we can recover more water and bring it to the areas that need it most,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
Since the water company’s re-privatization in 2007, Maynilad has replaced around 1,982 km of old pipes—about the same length as the distance between Manila and Siem Reap in Cambodia.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.