Maynilad to invest P10 billion for new sewer lines

November 27, 2017

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is investing over P 10 billion to install 183.6 kilometers of sewer lines within the next five years, to expedite the provision of sewerage services for its customers.
The new sewer lines will be laid in the cities of Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas, Las Piñas and Muntinlupa (Brgy. Poblacion), and in the municipality of Kawit in Cavite Province. This investment will enable Maynilad to catch wastewater generated by some 2 million customers in the area, and convey it to Sewage Treatment Plants (STP) for proper treatment.

“Maynilad knows the utmost importance of maintaining the health of communities and the environment through proper wastewater management. The installation of these new conveyance systems is part of our commitment to expand sewerage services to the entire West concession area,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
The installation of these new sewer lines will begin in the second half of 2018, and is targeted for completion by 2022. Once operational, the improved wastewater infrastructure will allow Maynilad to convey wastewater to STPs in the area with a combined treatment capacity 320 million liters of wastewater per day.
Maynilad is also currently laying sewer lines in Valenzuela, Parañaque and Muntinlupa City (Brgy. Cupang and Brgy. Tunasan).
From only two wastewater treatment facilities before re-privatization in 2007, Maynilad has already built 18 more, enabling it to treat some 502 million liters of wastewater as of September 2017.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.