Maynilad completes ₱387 M pipe-laying project in Caloocan City

June 20, 2017

West Zone Concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently completed a ₱387-million pipe-laying project in Caloocan City to improve water services in the area. 

The project involved laying more than eight kilometers of primary lines along Zabarte, Camarin and Langit roads. With its completion, more than 105,000 households in the areas of Bagong Silang, Pag-asa Homesite, and PHHC-Camarin Areas A to and C in North Caloocan now have improved water pressure from 7 psi (pounds per square inch) to 16 psi. At 16 psi, water supply can reach the third storey of a structure without need for a booster pump.

Maynilad’s recent energization of its North A Annex Pumping Station and Sacred Heart Reservoir also helped to support this improved service level.

“Investing in new pipelines enable us to improve service levels for existing customers and connect still-unserved areas to our network. We will sustain these investments so we can reach 100 percent coverage of our concession area sooner rather than later,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.

Of Maynilad’s ₱13.2 billion capital expenditure budget for this year, ₱8.2 billion has been allocated for water infrastructure projects to enhance supply availabililty and pressure in the West Zone.
The Maynilad water distribution system is the longest ISO-certified facility of its kind in the Philippines. It stretches from North Caloocan to Cavite Province and delivers over 2,000 million liters of potable water per day.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is an agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.