Maynilad constructs Tunasan sewage treatment plant

July 04, 2016

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has begun the construction of a new sewage treatment plant (STP) in Tunasan, Muntinlupa City. Once completed, this facility will bring the total number of STPs within Maynilad's concession area to 20.
The Tunasan STP has a design capacity of 20 million liters per day (MLD), and can serve approximately 92,000 Maynilad customers in Barangay Tunasan, Muntinlupa. It will have an accompanying conveyance system of approximately 1.4 kilometers that will collect and treat wastewater discharged by residential and semi-business establishments in the area, rendering it safe for discharge to the ecosystem.
The Tunasan STP—part of Maynilad’s program to expedite the provision of sewerage and sanitation services in Metro Manila—is one of four company projects funded by the World Bank, the other three being the ongoing STP constructions in Muntinlupa (Brgy. Cupang), Valenzuela and Pasay.
“With the construction of STPs in the Quezon City area complete, we now focus our wastewater investments in the south. Maynilad will continue building essential wastewater infrastructure until we provide at least one STP per city and municipality within our West concession area by 2021," said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
Construction of the Tunasan STP is targeted for completion by the second quarter of 2017, and the facility is expected to begin operations by September 2018.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.