Maynilad to invest ₱6B for wastewater projects in 2016

March 17, 2016

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is allotting over ₱6 billion this year to increase its wastewater treatment capacity and expand its sewerage coverage.
Of the said amount, some ₱4.6 billion will be used for the construction of Sewage Treatment Plants (STP) in Cavite City and Central Manila. Once completed, these new facilities will have a combined wastewater treatment capacity of 160 million liters per day (MLD), which can serve about 900,000 customers.

Meanwhile, ₱1.2 billion of the wastewater CAPEX will be allotted for the construction of about 15 kilometers of conveyance systems, also in Cavite City and Central Manila. The remaining budget will go to the maintenance of existing facilities, as well as sanitation programs in several areas of the West Zone.
Funding for Maynilad’s wastewater projects will come from local and international bank loans, and internally generated funds. In all, Maynilad expects to generate about 18,397 jobs from its 2016 wastewater infrastructure projects.
“It is a challenge to implement sewerage projects because of the inconvenience that inevitably results from laying the conveyance systems. We ask for the patience of the general public as we aim to facilitate the completion of our wastewater infrastructure, which is necessary to protect community health and the environment,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ramoncito S. Fernandez.
Maynilad’s wastewater infrastructure network currently includes three septage treatment plants, 19 sewage treatment plants, 40 pumping stations, 22 lift stations, and more than 500 kilometers of sewer lines.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.