Maynilad energizes P198M Pumping Station in Las Piñas City

November 13, 2015

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently energized its P198-million Alabang-Zapote Pumping Station in Las Piñas City.

This new facility will enable Maynilad to maintain strong water pressure for more than 38,000 households in Las Piñas and Muntinlupa. Maynilad customers in these areas receive their water supply at a pressure of 16 pounds per square inch (psi).

“The construction of additional pumping stations is essential to ensuring better management of water supply in our pipe network. With the Alabang-Zapote Pumping Station, we can better sustain the water requirements of our customers in the south, particularly those in elevated areas,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

With the completion of this new facility, Maynilad now has 25 pumping stations located in strategic locations throughout its concession area—up from only seven operational pumping stations in 2006 before the company was re-privatized under Metro Pacific Investments Corp. and DMCI Holdings, Inc.

Maynilad is spending some P1.91 billion this year for the construction of new pumping stations. Other pumping stations soon to be built are the North A Annex Pumping Station in Quezon City, Victoria Homes Pumping Station in Muntinlupa City, Tirona Pumping Station in Kawit, Cavite, and Magdiwang Pumping Station in Bacoor, Cavite.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.