Maynilad begins construction of P363M septage treatment plant

May 12, 2015

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has begun the construction of its P363-million South Septage Treatment Plant in Barangay Pamplona Uno, Las Piñas City. The facility is designed to treat 250 cubic meters per day of septage, which are collected from customers’ septic tanks with the use of vacuum trucks.

Maynilad’s South Septage Plant will support the company’s sanitation drive in Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Parañaque, and Pasay in Metro Manila; and the cities of Bacoor, Cavite and Imus, and the municipalities of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario in the province of Cavite.

Partly funded by Maynilad’s World Bank loan, the South Septage Treatment Plant will use a “screw press dewatering system”—a technology used for treatment of septage that requires minimal operational costs even as it provides excellent treatment.

“Wastewater from households that is not properly treated can pose serious and long-term threats to the health of communities and the environment. To date, we operate 17 wastewater treatment plants capable of treating 520 million liters of wastewater per day. But we have committed to building more to protect the communities that we serve,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.
Almost P7.61 billion—or about 44% of Maynilad’s capital expenditure program for 2015—has been allotted for wastewater management projects. This includes the construction of wastewater treatment plants and conveyance systems in Cavite and Central Manila.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is an agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.