Maynilad Central A District receives triple ISO certifications

August 14, 2014

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services Inc.’s (Maynilad) Central A Business District—composed of its Quirino-Roosevelt, South Caloocan and Malabon-Navotas Business Area (BA) offices—was awarded three ISO certifications.
After passing the audit conducted by international certifying body TUV Rheinland Philippines, Maynilad’s Central A Business District achieved international certifications in Quality Management Systems (ISO 9001:2008), Environmental Management Systems (ISO 14001:2004), and Occupational Safety and Health Management Systems (OHSAS 18001:2007).
“Our certifications are proof of Maynilad’s commitment to provide world-class services to our customers. These also serve as a testament to the fact that our employees always strive for excellence,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.
The certification of its Central A Business District brings Maynilad’s total to 105 ISO certifications across 32 offices and facilities, which include its Human Resources Division, Corporate Quality, Environment, Safety and Health Division, La Mesa Treatment Plants 1 and 2, Dagat-Dagatan Sewage and Septage Treatment Plant, Tondo Sewage Pumping Plant, Central Laboratory, Water Network (including its accompanying pipelines, 12 pumping stations, Head Office and maintenance shop), Logistics Division and its warehouses (central and three satellite areas), North Business District, Technical Services Division, and Program Management Division.

Maynilad is also the first and only water company in the Philippines to receive the ISO 14064:2006 certification for the verification of its greenhouse gas or carbon footprint quantification and reporting initiative.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.