Maynilad installs high-grade pump; improves water pressure in Caloocan

February 17, 2014

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently completed the installation of a 25 million liter per day (MLD) centrifugal pump in its La Mesa North Pumping Station in Quezon City.
The newly-installed pump will enable Maynilad to increase water pressure for more than 130,000 customers in Caloocan City, particularly in Camarin PHHC area A & B, Bagong Silang, Maligaya - Capitol Park Homes, Camarin, Amparo, Victory Heights, Pangarap Village, Pangarap Village, Adelines Subdivision, Mountain Heights,Bankers Subdivision, Malaria, Central Leprosarium, and Tala.
Prior to this investment, households in these Caloocan communities experienced low water pressure during daytime, weekends and holidays because of peak water demand. With the completion of the 6th water pump in La Mesa, these Maynilad customers will receive their water supply at 27psi (pounds per square inch) pressure.
Maynilad is also constructing a 10 million liter water reservoir in its La Mesa compound. Once completed, this facility will allow the company to extend water availability in parts of Caloocan from the current 22 hours a day to 24 hours a day. Maynilad expects to complete this reservoir project by the third quarter of 2014.

“There is so much that still needs to be done and improved in our concession area. With the support of our customers and other stakeholders, we can continue investing in critical infrastructure that will protect our water supply for current and future generations,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.