Maynilad to invest P18B for infra projects

January 25, 2014

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is investing around P18 billion this year for its water and wastewater projects, the biggest capital investment for the company since water services in Metro Manila were privatized in 1997.

Around P8.2 billion, or some 46%, of Maynilad’s 2014 capital investment will be spent for wastewater management projects, including the construction of several Sewerage Treatment Plants and conveyance systems in Muntinlupa, Parañaque and Valenzuela.

More than P2.7 billion will go to Maynilad’s service expansion program which includes laying primary lines in portions of Cavite, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Parañaque and Quezon City.

To help ensure sufficient water supply and pressure in the West Zone, P2.3 billion has been earmarked for constructing, rehabilitating and upgrading boosters, pumping stations and reservoirs.

Some P2.2 billion has been allotted for Maynilad’s Non-Revenue Water (NRW) reduction program, which covers meter and pressure management, active leakage control, primary line assessment, selective pipe replacement, and District Metered Area management.

Another P2.2 billion will be spent for water source development, while some P314 million has been allotted for the modernization of the company’s data management and information systems.

Funding of Maynilad’s massive infrastructure investment will come from local and international bank loans, and internally generated funds. The water company expects to generate around 58,275 jobs from its P18 billion capex this year.

“We are doing everything we can to meet our service obligations to our customers. We also hope to contribute to the job generation program of the government through our record investment,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River,West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west ofSouth Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in the Cavite Province.