500k more Maynilad customers

January 22, 2014

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) connected 70,962 new accounts in 2013, effectively servicing an additional 525,119 people in its service area. This brings Maynilad’s total number of accounts to 1,129,497 or nearly 8 million people.

Of its current customers, 98% have 24-hour uninterrupted water supply— a dramatic increase from the 32% who enjoyed the same service level prior to Maynilad’s re-privatization in 2006.

Meanwhile, 100% of its customers now have an average water pressure of 7 pounds per square inch (psi). It takes about 7 psi for water to reach the second floor of a building.

This year, Maynilad is investing almost P18 billion in the West Zone, its biggest capital investment since water and wastewater services in Metro Manila were privatized in 1997. Of this, more than P3.1 billion will go to Maynilad’s service expansion program which includes laying primary lines in parts of Cavite, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Parañaque and Quezon City. Meanwhile, the bulk of the investment, P8.2 billion, will go to wastewater infrastructure projects.
“We have gone a long way in terms of water service coverage but the bigger challenge still lies ahead of us—wastewater management. We need to spend more on our sewerage and septage facilities to be able to meet our commitments to our customers, the government and the environment,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all butportions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River,West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in the Cavite Province.