Maynilad acquires mobile water facilities, sends more water for typhoon victims

November 14, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is acquiring two portable water treatment plants for deployment to hardest hit areas in Leyte within the next few days.  The first mobile water facility, which can produce 50,000 liters per day of potable water, is expected to be ready for deployment by Saturday. The second mobile facility has a water treatment capacity of 26,000 liters per day, and will be ready for deployment by Wednesday next week.  

Costing nearly P1.4 million, the two portable water treatment plants use ultrafiltration and reverse osmosis (RO) water purification technology and can treat brackish water.

In the meantime, Maynilad has also sent a second batch of water donations to the typhoon victims in Ormoc, Tacloban, Coron, Guiuan, Iloilo and Capiz, through various government agencies and private organizations. Since Tuesday, Maynilad deployed additional 10,000 units of one gallon containers, 6,000 units of one liter containers, 5,500 units of five gallon containers, and 4,000 units of 330ml bottles of potable water.

By tonight (November 14, 2013), Maynilad is also loading 150 metric tons of potable water on North Star Shipping’s Aquastar vessel bound for Isabel and Ormoc, Leyte.

“We understand the logistical challenges of transporting relief goods to the typhoon-ravaged areas so we’re doing our best to identify other ways of bringing potable water to our countrymen,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.