Maynilad connects almost 60,000 new connections to its distribution network

November 07, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has recently added 58,094 water service connections to its distribution network as of third quarter of 2013.  Most of these connections are unserved areas which Maynilad has committed to connect with piped-in water by 2026.

Of the said accounts, more than half of the new connections come from the southern portion of Maynilad’s concession area, particularly Paranaque and Muntinlupa; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario – all in the province of Cavite.

Around 40% of the new connections were from the northern districts of the West Zone, covering the cities of Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas and Valenzuela; and some parts of Quezon City. The remaining 7% of the total additional accounts come from Manila and Makati.

“Since 2007, Maynilad has invested heavily in the expansion of its pipe network. Not only will new customers receive 24-hour uninterrupted water supply with at least 7 per square inch of pressure, they will also be drinking water that is safe and affordable,” said Maynilad president and CEO Ricky Vargas.

The increase in the number of accounts is part of Maynilad’s aggressive expansion program to connect all residents and business establishments under its concession area. Since Maynilad’s reprivatization in 2007, Maynilad was able to lay 2,644 kilometers of pipe throughout the West Zone by October 2013.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite Province.