Maynilad slashes water losses by 48%

October 28, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has reduced its water losses by 48%, since its re-privatization in 2007. From 66% in 2006, Maynilad’s non-revenue water (NRW) level now stands at 38% as of September 2013. In effect, the water company has recovered over 719 million liters per day (MLD) of potable water, which is enough to serve 5.3 million people.

The dramatic water loss reduction resulted from Maynilad’s aggressive NRW management program. To date, Maynilad has spent nearly ₱13 billion for its NRW management program, which includes the establishment of District Metered Areas (DMAs), massive leak repairs, total and partial pipe replacements, active leak detection, among others.

“The water distribution network in the West Zone was very inefficient when we took over. To improve and expand our water services, we really had to invest in modernising the infrastructure we inherited,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

In 2006, over 1500 MLD of potable water was being lost in Maynilad’s water system because of underground leaks and pilferage. As a result, water coverage and supply in Pasay, parts of Makati, Paranaque, Muntinlupa, and Las Pinas were very limited.  Only 46% of them had 24-hour water availability while 53% had above 7 pounds per square inch (psi) pressure.

Today, 97.5% of Maynilad customers in these areas have 24-hour water supply and 99.8% enjoy pressure of above 7 pounds per square inch (psi).

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.