Maynilad inaugurates 200 million peso sewage and septage treatment plant in Quezon City

October 18, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has inaugurated a ₱266-million joint sewage and septage treatment plant located in Project 7, Quezon City.  The treatment facility is designed to handle a total flow of 2, 640 cubic meters comprising of 2,400 and 240 cubic meters sewage flows and septage from desludging activities.  The sewage flow comes from the 46.5 hectares sewerage area while the septage volumes are desludged from various areas of Quezon City.

The facility is partly funded under the World Bank-Global Environment Facility (WB-GEF) for the Manila Third Sewerage Project of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) and the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) with Maynilad as end-user.  The project aims to increase the coverage and effectiveness of sewerage service delivery in participating areas of Metro Manila through an integrated approach involving septage management, sewage management, and heightened consumer awareness of water pollution problems.

The treatment plant will provide sewerage and septage services for some 18,500 people.  Maynilad assures its customer that the treatment plant adheres to the strict environmental standards set by the DENR.  

“The facility’s impact to the beneficiary communities is tremendous. Wastewater generated by households is now treated to a level that meets DENR standards. More significantly, community health and the environment will be better preserved,” said Maynilad COO Herbert M. Consunji.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.

In photo: Maynilad COO Herbert M. Consunji (third from left) is joined by (from left to right) Deputy Administrator Zoilo Andin, DENR Undersecretary Demetrio Ignacio, Assistant Secretary Rommel Abesamis, and Atty. Miguel Cuna.