Maynilad invests P500M to install new pipes in Imus

July 22, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is investing P500 million to lay nearly 33 kilometers of primary, secondary and tertiary pipes along Buhay na Tubig road (from Aguinaldo Highway to Barangay Pinagbuklod) and along Malagasang Road (from Patindig Araw to Dasmarinas boundary), both in Imus, Cavite. 
The pipe laying projects will start this August and are expected to end by early 2014. With the additional pipes, Maynilad can connect almost 19, 000 households and establishments in Imus. Currently, these water consumers are relying on deep wells and costly water delivery tanks for their daily needs. 
“We are committed to providing full water service coverage in the West Zone. This project will enable us to reach communities in the southernmost portion of our concession area,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.
Maynilad is closely coordinating with the Imus Traffic Management Office (ITMO) and local government of Cavite to minimize traffic and public inconvenience. Traffic aides will also be deployed to assist the traffic flow while the work sites will be enclosed with board-up barricades, with appropriate lighting and traffic/warning signs.

In areas where primary pipes will be laid, the contractors of Maynilad will only be allowed to work from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. These selected work sites will be temporarily restored daily to make the street passable during the day when vehicular traffic is expected to be heavy.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.