Maynilad spends 77M to replace 24km pipes in Malabon

July 03, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is replacing 23.6 kilometers of secondary and tertiary pipes in Malabon City to improve services to more than 12,800 households in the area. The water company is spending some P77 million to replace the 30-year old pipes by the 3rd quarter of 2013.

Once completed, the project is expected to increase water pressure in Barangays Acacia, Baritan, Bayan-bayanan, Dampalit, Hulong Duhat and Tinajeros. It will also allow Maynilad to extend its services to about 1,250 people and recover more than 25 million liters of potable water per day (MLD), which is enough to supply 25,000 households.

“Leaks and pipe breakages not only cause unscheduled water interruptions but can also serve as entry points for water contaminants, especially for flood-prone areas like Malabon. Our projects in the area will give our customers there with the service levels they deserve, prevent further loss of water and avoid water contamination,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

To minimize public inconvenience and help ensure traffic safety, Maynilad is closely coordinating with the Department of Public Works and Highways, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority and the local government units of Malabon City.
Moreover, Maynilad regularly monitors its contractors to ensure that their work sites are fully enclosed by board-up barricades and have appropriate lighting and traffic/warning signs.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.