Maynilad builds ₱360M Plant in QC

June 27, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently completed the construction of a ₱360-million Sewage Treatment Plant (STP) in Bagbag along Tandang Sora Avenue in Quezon City. The facility has the capacity to collect and treat over 10,000 cubic meters per day (CMD) of wastewater.

The STP will provide sewerage services for some 80,000 people and help clear the San Juan River Basin. A Sequencing Batch Reactor (SBR) technology will be used to ensure that the discharged wastewater passes high-quality treatment and adheres to the environmental standards set by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR). The SBR technology also allows Maynilad to build an STP in small land areas that are densely populated.

The STP will provide sewerage services for some 80,000 people and help clear the San Juan River Basin, which empties into major water systems like the Pasig River and Manila Bay.

The Bagbag STP is the 12th wastewater facility built by Maynilad since 2010. The previously constructed STPs include Congressional, Baesa, Legal, Grant, San Antonio, Paltok, Tandang Sora, Bahay Toro, A. Samson, and Del Monte, all in in Quezon City. Maynilad has also constructed the Paco STP in Manila.

“Our long-term goal is to fully develop the wastewater system in the West Zone. We want all our customers to be connected to our sewer network so we can improve sanitation and protect the environment,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.

File Photo: Paltok STP is one of the 12 STPs which Maynilad has constructed since 2010.