Maynilad spends P42M to replace old pipes in QC

June 18, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is spending some P42 million to replace seven kilometres of old, leaky pipes in various portions of Quezon City. Targeted to be completed and energized by the third quarter of 2013, the projects are set to improve water services for almost 6,000 people in the affected areas.

The West Zone concessionaire has started replacing 4.7 kilometers of secondary pipes in Damar Village and the project is expected to increase water pressure from 16 pounds per square inch (psi) to 22 psi.

Meanwhile, Maynilad is also replacing 2.3 km of secondary pipes in various locations along Barangays San Antonio, Paltok, San Jose, Doña Imelda, Masambong, Apolonio Samson which will increase water pressure from 15 psi to 30 psi.

To lessen inconvenience for motorists, Maynilad is closely coordinating with the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), Quezon City Engineering Office and local barangay officials. Aside from providing five additional traffic aides to manage the traffic flow along the project areas, Maynilad makes sure that the work sites are also properly barricaded, with appropriate lighting and traffic/warning signs.

“Deteriorated pipes are prone to leaks, breakages and intrusion of contaminants. We need to replace the old, leaky pipes we inherited to ensure the delivery of safe and reliable drinking water to our customers,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province