P190 million Maynilad reservoir to rise in Quezon City

June 05, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) will build a P190 million concrete water reservoir in Novaliches, Quezon City, to increase water pressure and ensure 24-hour availability in elevated portions of North Caloocan. Construction will start June this year and is expected to be completed by April 2014.

The water reservoir will have a holding capacity of 10 million liters (ML) which is enough to meet the supply requirements of over 555, 000 Maynilad customers in Sacred Heart Villages, De la Costa Homes Village, Midway Park, Capitol Parkland Subdivision, Mira Monte Heights, Tala Subdivision, Samara Village, Central Luzon Leprosarium, Victoria Wave Economic Zones, NHS Tala Subdivision ,Cefels Park Subdivision, Soldiers Hills, Victory Heights Subdivision, Guadanoville Subdivision, Mountain Heights, Bankers Village, Pangarap, Adeline Homes and Sto. Nino Village.
“In the last five years since the first quarter of 2008, we have spent over P35.95 billion to improve and expand our infrastructure network. As a result, around 96.7% of our customers now have 24-hour water supply. We will continue to invest in our network to ensure that safe, reliable water is available to all of our customers,” said by Maynilad CEO and President Ricky Vargas.

Last year, Maynilad commissioned two bolted reservoirs to provide over 53,700 residents in Caloocan City with 24-hour water supply at a pressure of at least 16 psi. Located along Magdalena and J.P. Ramoy Streets, these facilities have a combined capacity to store 7 million liters and a total project cost of P48 million.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite Province.

In photo: File photo of Maynilad’s reservoir in PAGCOR. This facility has helped the water utility immensely as far as its service delivery is concerned.