Maynilad, DENR lead World Water Day 2013

March 19, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), in partnership with other private and government agencies, will take the lead in the annual Philippine celebration of the World Water Day on March 22, 2013, to be held at the SM Mall of Asia.

Anchored on the theme “International Year of Water Cooperation”, this year’s World Water Day activities include the awarding of winners of Maynilad’s thinkLiquid 2013 film-making competition, the gathering of volunteers to form a giant “water snake” and pass buckets of water, and the holding of a Water Festival 2013 concert featuring the country’s top musical acts.

Maynilad is also organizing other activities in the days leading up to March 22. Among these are an educational tour at the Ipo Watershed and La Mesa Water Treatment Plant through the company’s Daloy Dunong program (March 19), the company’s Plant for Life mangrove planting and coastal cleanup in the towns of Noveleta and Rosario, Cavite (March 20 and 21), and the inauguration of Maynilad educational rest rooms at the Museo Pambata (March 21).

“This is a great opportunity to heighten the world’s awareness of the importance of sustainable water management. We Filipinos should go to SM MOA on March 22 and lend our voices to this effort,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

World Water Day is observed yearly to bring international focus on the importance of freshwater, as well as to advocate for the sustainable management of freshwater resources.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite Province.