Maynilad discounts for low-income customers

March 01, 2013

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) continues to provide substantial discounts to make water services more affordable for low-income households within its concession area.

Lifeline customers whose consumption does not exceed 10 cubic meters (cu.m.) per month receive a 41% discount off the basic water rate of the company. These lifeline customers constitute roughly 19% of Maynilad’s Residential customers.

The company also reduces water service application fees for residents of blighted areas. From a standard fee of about P8,160 including the Guaranty Deposit, they are only charged about P3,000 as Maynilad shoulders two-thirds of the cost for the service connection.

Senior Citizens whose monthly consumption does not exceed 30 cu.m. are likewise entitled to a 5% discount from Maynilad. Also, government-owned/non-profit senior citizen centers and homes, which constitute 2,786 accounts, are also given a 50% markdown.

Maynilad extends preferential rates to small businesses such as home-based sari-sari stores. These accounts pay Residential charges for their first 10 cu.m. consumption, which is lower than the Semi-Business rate.

Also, to support institutions that provide vital services to the public, Maynilad only charges these institutions the Semi-Business rate rather than the Commercial rate. Among these institutions are public preparatory, elementary, secondary and tertiary schools managed by local government units (LGU); public hospitals managed and operated by LGUs; and jails (excluding detention centers within police stations and military camps).

“We are committed to providing affordable water to our customers, which is why we provide discounts and subsidies to those with modest and limited means,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon—all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario—all in Cavite Province.