Maynilad recovers 600 MLD of water

February 17, 2013

Metro Pacific and DMCI-led Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recovered over 600 million liters of water per day (MLD) since it started its campaign against water loss or Non-Revenue Water (NRW) in 2008. This recovered volume is enough to supply about 600,000 households with clean, reliable water.
A component of Maynilad’s NRW Reduction Program is the replacement of old pipes. From 2008, Maynilad was able to replace a total of 940 kilometers of pipes in several areas of the West Zone, particularly in Central Manila where water loss was highest.
The company continues to operate state-of-the-art leak detection technologies. This resulted to the repair of more than 45,000 leaks in 2012, bringing its total number of leaks repaired to over 150,000 since 2008.
Also, Maynilad recently completed the establishment of 1,271 District Metered Areas (DMAs), which provides 100% DMA coverage of the West Zone. By dividing the concession area into smaller, hydraulically separate areas or DMAs, Maynilad was better able to monitor leaks and identify causes of low water pressure using advanced measuring technologies.
Maynilad’s NRW Reduction program includes meter and pressure management, active leakage control, primary line assessment, selective pipe replacement, and DMA management. From P1.4 billion in 2012, the company has increased budget allocation for this program to P2.134 billion this year.
“Recovering 601 MLD of water in just five years is proof positive that Maynilad’s NRW reduction campaign is working. We may have inherited old and leaky pipelines in 2007, but that only fueled our determination to find innovative solutions in making our pipe system more efficient,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of theGreater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in the Cavite Province.