Maynilad spends P190 million for pumping station upgrade

October 14, 2012

Metro Pacific and DMCI Holdings-led Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is spending P190-million to upgrade its North C Pumping Station located inside the La Mesa Compound in Quezon City. The project involves the installation of four new water pumps to supplement the facility’s four existing pumps.
Of the P190 million infrastructure investment, over P113 million went to the construction of a pump house and acquisition of four high-efficiency pumps from the United States. The rest went into the installation of a flow meter, valves and pipes, and construction of a power sub-station and a house for the generator set.
Two of Maynilad’s newly installed pumps are equipped with a Variable Frequency Drive (VFD), which enables the adjustment of operation speed depending on customer water consumption, making the North C Pumping Station more energy efficient. One VFD-equipped pump is enough to regulate the output of the other seven pumps. The other VFD-equipped pump will serve as a back-up.
Maynilad’s North C Pumping Station currently serves Fairview, Commonwealth and a portion of Quirino in Quezon City. Once the pump facility upgrade is completed this month, water supply output to these areas will increase by 50 million liters per day (MLD). The additional supply is expected to increase water pressure to over 144,900 households.

Water supply availability to Barangays Holy Spirit, Batasan Hills and Commonwealth will also become 24 hours—up from the current 8 to 12 hours. Residents and establishments in these areas will also receive their water supply at a minimum pressure of 7 psi (pounds per square inch).
“We are fully committed to continuously improving our services. Through this infrastructure investment, we hope to enrich the lives of our current and future customers,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Paranaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in the Cavite Province.