Maynilad completes P207M pipelaying project in Muntinlupa and Las Pias

September 15, 2012

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently completed the Daang Hari primary line segment in Muntinlupa and Las Piñas. The P207-million project involved the laying 3.9 kilometers of new pipelines from the Alabang-Zapote Road to Versailles Subdivision.

The investment will provide ready supply of potable, surface water to households in Versailles Subdivision, and replace the existing deep well source of 400 households from Ayala Southvale Village, Ayala Southvale Sonera Subdivision and St. Jude Subdivision.

As a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System, Maynilad is required to connect West Zone residents and establishments to its water network to prevent the over-extraction of groundwater, especially in critical areas such as Muntinlupa and Las Piñas.

“Experts say that groundwater over-extraction poses serious and long-term threats to communities and the environment. Our aggressive capital expenditure projects in the south aim to allow more people to have access to safe, reliable and affordable surface water,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.

Meanwhile, Maynilad is currently constructing the Daang Hari booster pump station to further improve service levels in these areas. Once completed, the P106-million facility will benefit some 12,870 households from Ayala Alabang Village, BF Almanza, TS Cruz Subdivision and Pilar Village.

The facility will increase water supply availability in the said areas from 10 hours to 24 hours. Likewise, it will allow customers to enjoy a water pressure of 16 pounds per square inch (psi). It takes about 7 psi for water to reach the second floor of a building.

For 2012, Maynilad earmarked P3.08 billion to improve and expand its water services in Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Las Piñas and Cavite.

Maynilad is the largest concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.