Maynilad P360M pipelaying project to expand services in Imus and Bacoor

September 04, 2012

Metro Pacific and DMCI-led Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is spending P360 million to lay 24.43 kilometers of new pipelines along Molino, Bayanan and Mambog roads in Bacoor, and along Buhay na Tubig road in Imus, Cavite.
Once pipelaying activities in Bacoor are complete, Maynilad can bring potable surface water to over 15,340 Bacoor households that used to rely on groundwater and expensive water tanker deliveries for their daily needs.
New primary, secondary and tertiary pipelines are now being installed along Mambog Road (from Aguinaldo Highway to Molino Blvd.), Bayanan Road (from Molino to San Nicholas), and Molino Blvd. (from Niog to Mambog) in Bacoor. Maynilad also targets to extend this pipeline to Imus along Buhay na Tubig Road (from Aguinaldo Highway to Lessandra Subdivision), which will benefit 4,691 additional households in Imus.
To assist motorists, Maynilad is closely coordinating with the Bacoor Traffic Management Office to manage traffic flow along the project area. The work site is also fully enclosed by board-up barricades, with appropriate lighting and traffic/warning signs.
Some 8,980 meters of new pipelines have already been laid to date. Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas is optimistic that the project will be completed before the end of the year. “We are hoping to finish this project as early as possible so Bacoor and Imus residents can already benefit from 24-hour water supply at a pressure of about 7 psi (pounds per square inch),” he said.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindan ao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Paranaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.