Maynilad south district customers climb 111%

July 27, 2012

Customers of Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) in Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa and Cavite rose by 111% from only 828,096 at the end of 2006 to 1.75 million by the first half of 2012.

The significant increase was due to the aggressive investments made by Maynilad in the last five years. To date, the company has spent over P34 billion to lay 2,400 kilometres of new pipes, build additional pumping stations and water reservoirs, develop a new water source, among others, in its south district.

Of its current customers from Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa and Cavite, 98% now have 24-hour water supply—a dramatic increase from the 36% that received the same service level in 2006.

Meanwhile, those who receive their water supply at a minimum pressure of 7 pounds per square inch (psi) have increased to 94% from only 43% during the same period.

Prior to Maynilad’s entry into these areas, residents were dependent on unsafe and expensive water deliveries from private deep well operators.

“We implemented an aggressive capital expenditure program in the south because we knew how badly they needed clean, affordable water. And though we have succeeded in improving and expanding our services in these areas, we will continue to be aggressive in our service improvement projects to better respond to the needs of our customers there,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

For this year alone, Maynilad allotted P3.08 billion for capital expenditure projects in the South. This includes the reinforcement of pipelines along Daang Hari Highway from Muntinlupa and Las Piñas, replacement of old pipes in several areas of Parañaque, and installation of new pipelines in Cavite.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.