Maynilad spends P344 million to expand services in Las Pias

August 01, 2012

Metro Pacific and DMCI-led Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) spent P344 million to complete its pipe-laying projects along Marcos Alvarez in Las Piñas City. This project involved the laying of over 61 kilometers of primary, secondary and tertiary lines along Marcos Alvarez from the Alabang-Zapote Road to Topaz St., including adjacent areas.


This project is set to connect more than 11,200 new accounts to Maynilad’s water distribution network. For decades, villages and subdivisions in the area relied on unsafe water delivery services and private deep wells for their daily water supply.


To further improve service levels in the south, Maynilad is currently constructing the P73.6-million Marcos Alvarez Booster Pump Station. Once completed, this facility will connect an additional 49,000 accounts from Cavite.


The booster pump station will also improve water pressure to existing customers from 4–16 psi (pounds per square inch) to 16–20 psi. It takes about 7 psi for water to reach the second floor of a building.


“Our aggressive infrastructure projects in the south district of Metro Manila is part of our commitment to provide more people with access to safe and reliable surface water, so they don't have to use deep wells or buy expensive water from vendors,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.


For 2012, Maynilad earmarked P3.08 billion to improve and expand its water services in Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Las Piñas and Cavite.


Maynilad is the largest concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.