Accelerated spending improves Maynilad service

July 26, 2012

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) accelerated its capital spending from 2007 to June 2012, resulting in improved water services for 8.1 million customers.  

From 1997 to 2006, only P7.7 billion was invested in the water infrastructure network of the West Zone. Under its new owners Metro Pacific Investments Corporation and DMCI Holdings, Inc., Maynilad spent P34 billion to rehabilitate, upgrade and expand its infrastructure, services and water recovery capabilities. The investment is approximately four times more than what was spent in its first decade of privatization.

The accelerated spending has allowed Maynilad to turn its operations around and deliver significantly improved services. From 2 million customers or 32% in 2006, Maynilad customers who now have 24-hour water supply have increased to 7.1 million customers or 88% by the end of June 2012. Meanwhile, those who receive their water supply at a minimum pressure of 7 pounds per square inch (psi) have more than doubled from 2.8 million customers or 45% to 7.8 million or 96% during the same period.

Maynilad’s investments also resulted in the expansion of its customer coverage, from only 6.1 million people at the end of 2006 to over 8.1 million by June 2012. Included among these new customers are households and establishments in Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa and Cavite, which were previously dependent on unsafe and expensive water deliveries from private deep well operators.

For 2012, Maynilad allotted P8.4 billion to improve and expand its water and wastewater services for its customers. This capital expenditure budget will be funded by a combination of corporate loans and internally generated funds.

“We are committed to infusing the necessary funds to make the company viable and responsive to the needs of our customers,” said Maynilad president and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Maynilad is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.