Maynilad distribution system gets ISO certifications

May 06, 2012

Metro Pacific and DMCI-led Maynilad Water Services Inc. (Maynilad) was recently awarded ISO certifications in quality, environment, and safety and health management for its water distribution system, which covers over 6,900 kilometers of pipes and seven pumping stations including their reservoirs located across the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area.
The Maynilad water distribution system is the longest ISO-certified facility of its kind in the Philippines. It stretches from North Caloocan to Cavite Province and delivers over 2,000 million liters of potable water per day to nearly 8 million customers. It is also the first multi-site certification for Maynilad and the seventh facility with certified integrated management system.
“We are very proud of this feat because a multi-site ISO certification is more difficult to achieve and maintain compared to a single ISO certification,” Maynilad president and CEO Ricky Vargas said.
“With a multi-site ISO certification, you have to make sure that each sub-unit operates according to international standards, both individually and collectively. Otherwise, the ISO certification of the entire facility will be revoked,” he elaborates.
Other Maynilad facilities that have triple ISO certifications are the Dagat-Dagatan Sewage and Septage Treatment Plant (DDSSTP)—the first facility of its kind in the Asia Pacific Region to receive such honor—the Tondo Sewerage Pumping Station, La Mesa Treatment Plants 1 and 2, and North Caloocan Business Area. Maynilad is also the first company in the Philippines to receive the ISO 14064:2006 certification for the verification of its greenhouse gas or carbon footprint quantification and reporting initiative. In all, Maynilad has 40 ISO certificates for 14 sites.

Maynilad is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.
IN PHOTO: Maynilad’s distribution system and seven accompanying pumping stations now have triple ISO certifications.