Maynilad energizes P521M pipeline

April 24, 2012

Metro Pacific and DMCI-led Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) recently energized its over P521-million Pagcor Pumping Station discharge line, which stretches nearly 4 kilometers from the Pagcor Pumping Station in Pasay City to Coastal Road (Kabihasnan) in Parañaque City.

With the commissioning of its new discharge line, Maynilad was able to improve water supply and pressure to more than 109,600 water service connections in Las Piñas and Cavite City, and the municipalities of Noveleta, Imus, Bacoor and Kawit in Cavite Province. Before the project was completed, some Maynilad customers in these cities and municipalities only received water supply at an average of 12 hours a day.

“This project was meant to improve water service levels in the southernmost portion of our concession area. It will also allow us to expand our service coverage in Bacoor and Imus. Our customers there who still depend on expensive deep well water will finally have access to our services,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Among other ongoing Maynilad projects in the south are the reinforcement of pipelines along Daang Hari Highway from Muntinlupa and Las Piñas, replacement of pipes in several areas of Parañaque, and installation of primary lines in Cavite. In all, over 182 kilometers of pipes will be laid in the said areas this year.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.