Maynilad maintains high water quality

March 17, 2012

Since 2010, Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has consistently received 100% satisfactory compliance rating from the Metro Manila Drinking Water Quality Monitoring Committee (MMDWQMC). The high rating confirms that water from Maynilad's distribution system is safe for drinking and cooking.

The MMDWQMC conducts monthly water sampling in over 800 points in Maynilad’s concession area. The samples undergo strict bacteriological, physical and chemical examination to ensure that the water meets the Philippine National Standards for Drinking Water (PNSDW) of the Department of Health (DOH).
“To ensure the safety of the water we deliver to our customers, we maintain world-class facilities and continue to rehabilitate the pipe system we inherited,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.

Maynilad’s La Mesa Treatment Plants 1 and 2 obtained triple ISO certifications in 2009, proving that the facilities' systems and procedures meet strict international standards for quality, environment, and occupational safety and health.

Moreover, the company’s service improvement projects—including the replacement of old, leaky pipes throughout its concession area—has reduced the risk of intrusion of dirty water into the distribution network.

The MMDWQMC is composed of representatives from the Department of Health (DOH)-Center for Health Development - Metro Manila, DOH-National Center for Health Facility Development, Manila Health Department - Public Health Laboratory, Marikina Clean Food Laboratory, Makati Health Department, Pasay City Health Department, Parañaque City Health Department, Quezon City Health Department, Las Piñas  City Health Department, Environmental Management Bureau, MWSS Regulatory Office, Maynilad Water Services, Inc. and Manila Water Company Inc. The committee is tasked to monitor the quality of water being served by the two concessionaires.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.