Maynilad allots P2.64B for South Manila projects

March 03, 2012

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) will spend more than P2.64 billion this year to improve and expand its water services in Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Las Piñas and Cavite.
More than P2 billion has been earmarked to extend the water company’s primary, secondary and tertiary pipelines in Cavite, while P446 million will be spent to reinforce and replace primary lines along Daang Hari Highway from Muntinlupa and Las Piñas.
Over P58 million will be used to fund pipe replacement projects in Parañaque to further improve water supply and pressure for customers in the area who are being supplied by Maynilad’s Villamor Pumping Station.
In all, over 182 kilometers of pipes will be laid in the said municipalities this year.  Nearly 47,000 households are expected to benefit from the projects which will also generate some 9,400 jobs.
“We are expediting our service improvement projects in Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Las Piñas, and Cavite because the residents there have waited too long to have access to our services. With the support of the public and their respective local government units, we hope to serve even more households and establishments in the south this year,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.
Metro Pacific Investments Corporation (MPIC) and DMCI Holdings, Inc. (DMCIHI) took over Maynilad operations in 2007. Five years after its re-privatization, Maynilad has increased its customer base from only 6.1 million at the end of 2006 to over 7.9 million by December 2011. Among these new customers are households and establishments which have been waterless for decades and relied on unsafe and expensive water deliveries from private deep well operators.
Maynilad is the largest concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.
IN PHOTO: Maynilad installs primary lines along Daang Hari Highway as part of its 2012 projects to bring water to more communities in the south.