Maynilad assists Cagayan Water District

December 21, 2011

West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has been assisting the Cagayan De Oro Water District (COWD) in providing potable water to the calamity victims in Cagayan De Oro City (CDO). Maynilad is also coordinating with COWD Chairman Joel Baldelovar to monitor the water supply situation and requirements in the area.
Through the Department of Social Welfare and Development, Office of the Department of Public Works and Highways Secretary and Philippine Air Force, Maynilad’s portable water treatment facility and five personnel were airlifted to CDO Monday where they were met by officials from COWD. The equipment was then transported to Barrio Barra, Opol, Misamis Oriental near Jandorf Subdivision so that residents in the area could be provided safe, drinking water.
Maynilad initially drew its raw water from Ipunan River, but after monitoring increased levels of turbidity, it had to relocate its operations near a well identified by COWD. Subject to the changing quality of raw water in the area, Maynilad will be operating its water treatment facility 24/7 to be able to serve more of the typhoon victims.

COWD supplies half of the water needs of Cagayan De Oro City. Its major facilities were heavily damaged by the flash flood caused by Tropical Storm Sendong. Delivery of water from its bulk supplier has also not been possible due to infrastructure damage.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.