185,000 students benefit from Maynilad Lingkod Eskwela Program

November 12, 2011

Some 185,000 students from 46 public schools in the West Zone concession have benefited from the Lingkod Eskuwela Program of Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) since its launch in 2008.

The program promotes good health through proper hygiene by installing drink-and-wash stations in public schools free of charge. Maynilad also conducts regular sampling of drinking water to check its quality, and extends technical assistance to beneficiary schools to fix their internal plumbing systems.

Another 165,000 students from 40 schools are targeted to become additional beneficiaries by the end of this year.

“We believe that reliable access to clean and safe water is essential for the health and hygiene of school children,” Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas said. “By giving them access to potable water, they can also avoid getting diseases that would make them skip school days and miss out on the knowledge they would otherwise be learning.”

Through Lingkod Eskwela, Maynilad also engages students in discussions aimed to raise their awareness about environmental conservation and the importance of water for health and sanitation. “This program affirms our commitment to be a partner of the government to deliver quality services to the public,” added Vargas.

Maynilad Lingkod Eskwela is a partnership between Maynilad, Department of Health (DOH), and Department of Education (DepEd) under its “Adopt-a-School Program.”

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.