Maynilad taps another hi-tech equipment for leak operations

July 18, 2011

Metro Pacific Investments Corporation and DMCI Holdings-led Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) is tapping the JD7 LDS2010 “Investigator” to detect leaks and bring down waterloss in its concession area. The company will spend around P5.17 million ($120,000) for the equipment.

The “Investigator” is a CCTV acoustic leak detection system from the United Kingdom that enables pressurised pipe inspection of 400mm and smaller diameter of pipes without interrupting water service.  The device can even be launched through fire hydrants, pressure fittings, air valves, and gate valves.  Maynilad is the first water company in Asia to use the high-tech device.

Aside from making leak detection without service interruption possible, the “Investigator” lessens traffic obstruction by minimizing road excavations necessary to check the pipes. The device’s systems camera and hydrophone technology helps detect the actual location of the leak from the surface and marks it for repair.  It also enables overall pipe condition assessment, help trace illegal connections, unknown pipes, and possible sources of water quality issues.  

“We are investing heavily in our Non-Revenue Water (NRW) reduction program because we want to recover more water for our customers. Thus far, we have recovered over 400 MLD of water, which is enough to supply a city of 2 million people,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky Vargas.

Maynilad uses several state-of-the-art leak detection technologies in its aggressive campaign against water loss.  These include the Sahara® mobile leak detection system, Aquascan Trunk Main (TM) leak noise correlator and an automatic pressure regulating device (I2O) which would help the company manage the excessive pressures in the pipe system.  

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base.  It is a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Hi-way), Caloocan, Pasay, Paranaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.